the 1st concept map

Finally I managed to make my first concept map (I’m really sick [strange Estonian whether] and it’s hard to think 🙂 )

Anyway, I’m not sure if I made it right. I suppose I need more experience. Hope with time it will get better.

I prefer to look at New Media more from (maybe) philosophical or historical view (at home university I study Media Philosophy 🙂 ) that is why I used some citations from Manovich and McLuhan. I suppose it’s allowed 🙂

On the other hand, it is quite difficult do define NEW Media, because the definition of it changes all the time (because of the development of technology, of course). But, ascethical and ideological implications of “new media” are not new (what I’m trying to show with the origin of NM: tv, photography, ect.). I think it would be better do identify the new media as a democratic media (they are available/reachable nearly for everybody).

I have participated in the first lecture on Thursday, but I couldn’t find the ppt, that’s why I almost don’t use concepts mentioned in that class (we went through them very quickly and I didn’t catch too much…)

For now that’s it… 🙂

One response to this post.

  1. the slides are linked into the lecture post, you need to download them from the page.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

